Information for Participants

How To Enter

If you're participating in the Harbour Races, Passage Races, Tugboat Race or Classic Launch Race, the quickest and easiest way to enter is online.

Centreboard classes can enter by contacting their respective host club.

Subscribe to our newsletter or Follow us on Facebook to be informed when entries open.

Notice of Race

The Notice of Race for Ports of Auckland Anniversary Day Regatta 2020 will be published soon.

Sailing Instructions

Sailing Instructions for the 2019 Ports of Auckland Anniversary Day Regatta will be available soon.

2019 Events Timetable


Waitemata Harbour Events

0930-1600hrs:    Dragon Boat racing in Viaduct Harbour  (360 dragon boaters)

1000-1045hrs:     Tugboat Race:  Captain Cook Wharf - Orakei - Captain Cook Wharf

1045-1230hrs:    Tugboat display off Queen’s and Capt Cook Wharves followed by tugboats berthing at Capt Cook Wharf for public viewing

1100hrs:     Classic Launch Race: Westhaven - Orakei - Westhaven

1115hrs:     HMNZS CANTERBURY departs Capt Cook Wharf with VIP’s and sponsors on board to view the Regatta 

1200-1240hrs:    Races start off Westhaven at 5 minute intervals with A Classic start at 1225hrs, Waka Ama at 1235hrs and Waka Hourua at 1240hrs

1300-1700hrs:   Waitemata Harbour and Hauraki Gulf race fleets expected at Princes Wharf


Hauraki Gulf Events

0900hrs:    Keelboat races start from Mahurangi 

1000hrs:    Keelboat races start from Rakino and Kawau Islands 

Centreboard classes


Centreboard Fleets

0945hrs:           Narrow Neck Beach
Sea Scouts; Navy Crowns; Sunbursts

1000hrs:           Maraetai Sailing Club
Optimist; Optimist Green; Starling; 29er; 420; RS Feva
Auckland Championships Saturday 26 Jan – Monday 28 Jan

1200hrs:           Takapuna Boating Club 
Farr 3.7; Zephyrs; RS:X; Kite Boards; Kite Foilers; Windfoilers; A Class Catamarans; Hobie 16; IdleAlong; J14; Waszps
Anniversary Weekend Championships Sunday 27 Jan – Monday 28 Jan

1230hrs:           Tamaki Yacht Club 
Laser; Laser Radial; Laser 4.7; Mistral; Phase II

R/C Yachts

R/C Yachts

Radio controlled yachts

1000hrs: Electron Fleet at Westhaven Marina

1000hrs: International One Meter (IOM) and Wind Warrior fleets at St Mary’s Bay

Tugboat race and display

Starting from Captain Cook Wharf, racing past Orakei and ending back at Captain Cook Wharf with a display. Tugboats will berth at Captain Cook Wharf afterwards for public viewing as part of the Ports of Auckland SeePort festival. Open to tugboats and towing launches excluding outboard motor, stern leg propelled vessels, and jet units. This will be a handicap event, with trophies awarded to both line and handicap winners.

Spirit of Adventure Competition

As part of the 2020 Ports of Auckland Anniversary Regatta we're offering a ten day voyage on the Spirit of New Zealand to one lucky 16-18 year old sailor.

Subscribe to our newsletter or Follow us on Facebook to be informed when entries open.

We're here to help

If you have any questions please call 0800 REGATTA or email

Looking for Spectator information?

Find more info for Spectators here.