2020 Schedule of Events

The Schedule of Events for Ports of Auckland Anniversary Day Regatta 2020 is as follows:



Waitemata Harbour Events

0930-1600hrs:    Dragon Boat Racing in Viaduct Harbour (360 Dragon Boaters)

1000-1045hrs:     Tugboat Race:  Captain Cook Wharf - Orakei - Captain Cook Wharf

1045-1230hrs:    Tugboat Display off Queen’s and Capt Cook Wharves followed by tugboats berthing at Capt Cook Wharf for public viewing

1100hrs:     Classic Launch Race: Westhaven - Orakei - Westhaven

1115hrs:     HMNZS CANTERBURY departs Capt Cook Wharf with VIP’s and sponsors on board to view the Regatta 

1200-1240hrs:    Keelboat and Classic fleets start off Westhaven at 5 minute intervals with A Classic start at 1225hrs, Waka Ama at 1235hrs and Waka Hourua at 1240hrs

1300-1700hrs:   Waitemata Harbour and Hauraki Gulf race fleets expected to finish at Westhaven along with Keelboat and Classic fleet Harbour Races.




Hauraki Gulf Events

0900hrs:    Keelboat races start from Mahurangi 

1000hrs:    Keelboat races start from Rakino and Kawau Islands 

Centreboard classes


Centreboard Fleets

0945hrs:           Narrow Neck Beach
Sea Scouts; Navy Crowns; Sunbursts

1000hrs:           Maraetai Sailing Club
Optimist; Optimist Green; Starling; 29er
Auckland Championships: Saturday 25 Jan – Monday 27 Jan

1030hrs:           Manly Sailing Club
O'pen Bic; RS Feva

1200hrs:           Takapuna Boating Club 
Farr 3.7; Zephyrs; RS:X; Kite Boards; Kite Foilers; Windfoilers; A Class Catamarans; Hobie 16; J14; Waszp; 420
Anniversary Weekend Championships: Sunday 26 Jan – Monday 27 Jan

1230hrs:           Tamaki Yacht Club 
Laser; Laser Radial; Laser 4.7; Mistral; Phase II; Finn

R/C Yachts

R/C Yachts

Radio controlled yachts

1000hrs: Electron Fleet at Westhaven Marina

1000hrs: International One Meter (IOM) and Wind Warrior fleets at St Mary’s Bay



Tugboat race and display

1000-1045hrs: Tugboat Race: Starting from Captain Cook Wharf, racing past Orakei and ending back at Captain Cook Wharf. Open to tugboats and towing launches excluding outboard motor, stern leg propelled vessels, and jet units. This will be a handicap event, with trophies awarded to both line and handicap winners.

1045-1230hrs:  Tugboat display off Queen’s & Capt Cook Wharves.

1230hrs: Tugboats will berth at Captain Cook Wharf after the race and display for public viewing as part of the Ports of Auckland SeePort festival.